This is a blog recording the announcements that are sent out on the CASCA listserv.

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Reminder: Nomination to the Holberg International Memorial Prize 2014


The Board of the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund invites you to nominate
candidates to the Holberg International Memorial Prize 2014 for
outstanding work in the academic fields of the arts and humanities, social
science, law or theology. The prize for 2014 is NOK 4,5 million
(approximately EUR 610,000 USD 790,000*), and was established by the
Norwegian Government in 2003.

Letters of nomination must be sent to us by 15 June 2013.

How to nominate?
Scholars holding a senior position at universities and other research
institutions within the above mentioned academic fields are entitled to
nominate candidates for the Holberg Prize. The Holberg Prize Academic
Committee will base its assessment on the letters of nomination which must
state the reasons for the nomination (2 to 3 pages). Letters should also
contain a brief CV for the candidate and suggest referees who know the
scholar and his/her work.
Joint nominations do not strengthen a candidacy. Nominations are
strictly confidential.

For more information:

The award ceremony takes place in Bergen in June 2014.

Holberg Prize Laureates 2004 - 2013:
2013: Bruno Latour
2012: Manuel Castells
2011: Jürgen Kocka
2010: Natalie Zemon Davis
2009: Ian Hacking
2008: Fredric R. Jameson
2007: Ronald Dworkin
2006: Shmuel N. Eisenstadt
2005: Jürgen Habermas
2004: Julia Kristeva

If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact Ms. Solveig
Stornes, Project Manager Holberg Prize:

Yours sincerely,

Professor Sigmund Grønmo,
Chair of the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund

*Currency rates may change. Present rates from December 2012.

Casca News

This blog mirrors the list-serv for the Canadian Anthropology Society. To submit an announcement to this list, please email:

Blog Archive