This is a blog recording the announcements that are sent out on the CASCA listserv.

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Nomination to the Holberg International Memorial Prize 2013. Deadline 15 September 2012.

The Board of the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund invites you to nominate
candidates to the Holberg International Memorial Prize 2013 for
outstanding work in the academic fields of the arts and humanities,
social science, law and theology. The prize for 2013 is NOK 4,5
million (approximately EUR 600,000/USD 790,000*), and was established
by the Norwegian Government in 2003.

Letters of nomination must be sent to us by 15 September 2012.

How to nominate?
Scholars holding a senior position at universities and other research
institutions within the above mentioned academic fields are entitled
to nominate candidates for the Holberg Prize. The Holberg Prize's
Academic Committee will base its assessment on the letters of
nomination which must state the reasons for the nomination (2 to 3
pages). Letters should also contain a brief CV for the candidate and
suggest referees who know the scholar and his/her work. Joint
nominations do not strengthen a candidacy. Nominations are strictly

For more information:

The award ceremony takes place in Bergen in June 2013.

Holberg Prize Laureates 2004 - 2012:
2012: Manuel Castells
2011: Jürgen Kocka
2010: Natalie Zemon Davis
2009: Ian Hacking
2008: Fredric R. Jameson
2007: Ronald Dworkin
2006: Shmuel N. Eisenstadt
2005: Jürgen Habermas
2004: Julia Kristeva

If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact Ms Solveig
Stornes, Project Manager Holberg Prize:

Yours Sincerely,

Professor Sigmund Grønmo
Chair of Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund

*Currency rates may change. Present rates from February 2012.

Casca News

This blog mirrors the list-serv for the Canadian Anthropology Society. To submit an announcement to this list, please email:

Blog Archive