This is a blog recording the announcements that are sent out on the CASCA listserv.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016



The Association for Queer Anthropology (AQA) is proud to announce the
2016 Ruth Benedict Book Prize Competition for outstanding
anthropological scholarship on a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender,
or queer topic.

The Ruth Benedict Book Prize is presented each year at the American
Anthropological Association's annual meeting to acknowledge excellence
in a scholarly book written from an anthropological perspective about
a topic that engages issues and theoretical perspectives relevant to
LGBTQ studies. The Prize is awarded in each of two separate
categories, one for a single-authored monograph and another for an
edited volume.

Submissions may be on any topic related to lesbians, gay men,
bisexuals, transgender people, or other gender/sexual formations and
categories from any world culture area. Topics may include the study
of normativity, queer theory, and the social/historical construction
of sexual and gender identities, discourses, and categories. Authors
may represent any scholarly discipline, but the material submitted
must engage anthropological theories and methods. Submissions may be
self-nominated or may be sent by a press or another person.

Books submitted for the competition must have a publication date of
2015 or 2016 and may not have been submitted previously. Page proofs
of books scheduled for 2016 publication are acceptable but must
include a letter from the publisher confirming the anticipated
publication date of 2016.

To nominate a work, please submit one copy of the book or edited
volume to each of the four committee members listed below, with the
author or editor's name, mailing address, and email address, and
telephone number printed clearly on a separate cover letter indicating
that it is a submission for the Ruth Benedict Book Prize.

All submissions must be received by Monday, June 13, 2016.

Send inquiries to Ruth Benedict Book Prize Chair, Naisargi Dave

2015 Ruth Benedict Book Prize Committee Members: Jara Carrington,
Noelle Stout, Naisargi Dave, and Rudolf Gaudio.

Casca News

This blog mirrors the list-serv for the Canadian Anthropology Society. To submit an announcement to this list, please email:

Blog Archive